Indian College of Radiology

Indian College of Radiology

It was established as teaching (academic) wing of the Association in 1976 by Late Prof. P.K.Haldar and Dr. K.N.Kamdar. Prof. P.K.Haldar was the first Founder Chairman of the college followed by Dr. K.N.Kamdar. During the initial period of six years, activities were mainly confirmed to day’s teaching programme (C.M.E.) prior to the Annual Congress of IRA. In 1981, with Prof. Arcot Gajaraj becoming the Chairman, academic activities were given impetus and an attempt was made to organize as many C.M.E. programmes as possible throughout the year in different parts of the country so that interest in imaging is created for post-graduates as well as the Clinicians. Dr.Samir Banerjee, Secretary of the College and Dr. G.R.Jankhania, Treasurer has improved administrative and academic activities of the College. In 1984, under Chairmanship of Dr.G.R.Jankhania, it became mandatory to conduct four to six CME programmes prior to Annual Congress. In 1986, at Jaipur, Convocation was held to award fellowship of ICR to the Founder Members of the College.

Under Chairmanship of Dr. Samir Banerjee, a new chapter started and linked with Royal College of Radiologists, London, U.K. and a team from R.C.R., U. K. visited India and delivered one-day C.M.E. session at Hyderabad (1990) and at Pune (1991). It was in that period few centers in India got recognized for F.R.C.R. Training in India and young Radiologists were given the opportunity to visit the reputed institution and hospitals in U.K. to learn new techniques in Radiology and Imaging.

Prof. N G. Gadekar-Key Note Address (Memorial Oration) and Prof. Mihir Mitter Memorial Oration were instituted under the umbrella of ‘Indian College of Radiology & Imaging’ in 1988 & 1998 respectively. These orations are awarded to the Radiologists of the country who have excelled in academics as well as in teaching and developing the science of Imaging. Dr. Harnam Singh Mid-Term Teaching Session was introduced with the donation from Dr. Harnam Singh, 2 days midterm CME is named after him. Recently Prof.V.P.Lakhanpal Gold Medal has been introduced for the best academic contribution in the field of Radiology and Imaging.

Dr. Mukund Rahalkar, Secretary of the College, took a keen interest in improving quality of CME Programmes including Film Reading Sessions. Prof. Kakarla Subba Rao, Chairman of ICRI for six years further improved quality and quantity of the teaching sessions and conducted in small places all over India. Under his Chairmanship, a Text Book on ‘Diagnostic Radiology’ in two volumes was published by a contribution from Indian authors ably assisted by Prof. S.K.Bhargava. It was released during 50th Annual Congress of IRIA at Guwahati, Assam in 1997. College is doing an excellent job in conducting CME programmes all over India and establishing its office in IRIA House under Chairmanship of Prof. S.Bhadury and Secretary Dr. Bharat Parekh. The college has started News Bulletin for better communication, publishing updates on new imaging modalities, forthcoming CME Programmes, views from readers. Many more Awards were introduced in the college by a present team of office bearers. Prof. J.M. Pinto Award, Onco Imaging Award, Best Research Paper Award, Dr. Rao Award instituted by Dr. Prasanna Rao. Every year theme is given by ICRI selected by Executive Committee and approved by General Body, ICRI. Credit hours for CME is prepared by ICRI recommended by Prof. Kakarla Subbarao and approved by ICRI and IRIA.

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
  • Attributes
  • Custom attributes
  • Custom fields
Click outside to hide the compare bar
Wishlist 0
Open wishlist page Continue shopping