Memorial Medals & Awards

Memorial Medals & Awards

Another landmark in Indian Radiological Association was the introduction of ‘Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose Memorial Oration’ in the year 1948; a contribution to the advancement of Medical Radiology. Late Dr. Barceley, popularly known as “Father of British Radiology” was the first Orator in the year 1951. This oration was instituted after the cherished memory of one of the renowned Indian Biophysics and the first honorary member of the association ‘Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose’. Every year, it is to be delivered at the Annual Congress of Radiology and is awarded to a renowned Radiologist.

In 1968, During 21st Annual Congress the Indian Radiological Association at Bangalore, a resolution moved by Dr. L. H. Athale to institute an oration in the name of ‘Dr. Diwan Chand Aggarwal Memorial Oration’. He contributed immensely to the association and was the President in the year 1957. The members of the family of late Dr. Diwan Chand Aggarwal created an Endowment for the oration. It was started in the year 1969 and Dr. A. N. K. Menon of Madras delivered first Oration. Since then, many eminent Radiologists from India and all over the world delivered this oration.

In 1977, during 30th Annual Congress of IRIA at Chandigarh ‘Dr.K.M. Rai Memorial Oration’ was instituted by the family members of late Dr.K.M.Rai. Due to his efforts, IRA got rebirth in 1946 and conducted 1st Annual Congress of Radiology at Madras and spurt of scientific activities in radiology started again. He was instrumental in starting Journal (IJR) in 1947 and was Associate Editor of the same. He was President of IRA in the year 1953. Dr. O. P. Bhardwaj of New Delhi delivered the first Oration in the year 1978.

In 1980 Dr. Ashoke Mukherjee Award started was by IRA instituted by the family members of late Dr.Ashoke Mukherjee to encourage young Radiologist to take up new investigation and research in Radiology in India. Competitive scientific original work was selected and presented in Annual Congress by young radiologists and Committee appointed by President selects the paper and award is given to the radiologists every year on presentation. Dr. Pramod Kolwadker of Nagpur was the first recipient of this award in the year 1979.

IRA also started Traveling Fellowship for young radiologists to do advanced training in a reputed institution in India in the name of Late Prof. P. K. Haldar and M/s German Remedies in 1982. M/s German Remedies increased the Corpus out of STAR programme in India and now both Traveling fellowships are awarded by ICRI.

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
  • Attributes
  • Custom attributes
  • Custom fields
Click outside to hide the compare bar
Wishlist 0
Open wishlist page Continue shopping